Fitness · Food · Fun · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

New Year – Same Goals?

So a new year is upon us and with that comes resolutions and promises to yourself, half of which end up never getting accomplished or end up as a half-finished project being moved from apartment to apartment (t-shirt quilt anyone?). Two years ago I came up with two pages of goals I wanted to accomplish in 2012 that fell into 4 different categories: Fitness, Life, Financial and Fun.  See below for my old list of goals:

Fitness:

  • Workout at least 6 days a week
    • Win the Fitness Competition!
      • Get below 200lbs by April 1st
  • Start running again on Wednesday the 4th
    • Use the RunStart plan
    • Complete RunStart plan
      • Compete in Shoreline Road Race Series?
    • Run the Branford Road Race again
    • Complete a half marathon?
  • Train for a triathlon
    • Complete a sprint triathlon
  • Get to 180lbs by my 26th birthday

Life:

  • Find a full-time job than pays enough with benefits
  • Move in with Kevin
  • Find something to volunteer for

Financial:

  • Pay off my undergraduate student loan
  • Pay more than my minimum payment on my graduate loan
  • Try and save $100 a month for my “Apartment” fund
  • Start up a “Vacation” fund and add money when I can

Fun:

  • Learn to use my sewing machine
  • Complete track quilt
  • Take more pictures! (Especially with Kevin)
  • Have more fun
  • Read a new book every month
  • Learn knitting/crocheting?

As you can see I killed it in the Financial section and did pretty well in the Life and Fun sections.  I didn’t do so well in the Fitness section but hey 3 out of 4 isn’t so bad right? In 2013 I didn’t set any formal goals but I still managed to have a pretty great year.

Jugtown Jog.
Jugtown Jog.
Tubing
Tubing
Feisty blue crab.
Feisty blue crab.
Love this!
Love this!
And this one.
And this one.
Practicing headstands.
Practicing headstands.
Found a wedding dress and a bridesmaid!
Found a wedding dress and a bridesmaid!
Out on the pier in Piermont.
Out on the pier in Piermont.

end

But I’m thinking for 2014 I have a few things I want to accomplish and to help me stay accountable I figured I’d break out a goal list.

2014 Goals

Fitness and Health:

  • Get down to 200lbs by June 1st. (Preferably sooner.)
  • Get stronger, faster and calmer
  • Get back under a barbell. I miss moving weight so it is time to get back to it.
  • Complete my first half marathon (April 13th, probably with walk and run intervals)
  • Restart practicing yoga and work on my headstand, maybe move into handstands? (I haven’t taken anytime for yoga since moving to Piermont)
  • Eat better and remember how much energy I have and how great I feel when I do.

Life:

  • Continue to learn as much as I can at my job
  • Quit wasting so much time on my computer on the Internet
  • Turn off all electronics by 10pm at the latest (maybe 9:30)
  • Be in bed by 10pm and asleep by 10:30 on the weekdays

Financial:

  • Pay off my credit card
  • Once my credit card is paid off, put 10% of each pay check into a savings account that I will not touch.
  • Continue to pay more than the minimum payment on my graduate loan.

Fun:

  • Finally learn how to use my sewing machine
  • Finish T-shirt quilt (finally!)
  • Read at least 1 book a month, maybe 2?
  • Explore more places – Get to know Piermont and the surrounding NY area
  • Try harder to get together with friends more often

The Fitness and Health and the Financial categories require a bit of planning and multiple steps to get to where I want to be, but I’m working on it.  Tomorrow I start a round of Whole30 and will finally walk the 50 feet across the courtyard of my apartment complex to join the small, overpriced gym.  And luckily a recent raise at work will give me some extra income to hopefully pay down my credit card a bit faster.  So hopefully I’m well on my way to accomplishing a bunch of these goals. Bring it on 2014!!!

What are your “resolutions” or goals for the new year? 

Leave a Reply

