Fitness · Food · Fun · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

Second Round of Whole30: Cheater, Cheater, I need to be a Pumpkin Eater.

Well hello there! It’s been awhile, what can I say? I fell out of my blogging habit. But I found myself with some time tonight so here I am, visiting what feels like an old friend.

So in my time off from blogging I did pretty well in regards to what I was eating.  For the most part I avoided grains, dairy and sugar.  But after a month or two I found these things were slowly creeping back into my diet. Rice once or twice a week depending on how many times a week we got sushi, a delicious brownie every once and awhile, a candy here or there at work and eating out 1 to 2 times a week. Whenever we cooked we pretty much followed the Whole30 rules but we definitely were eating out more which means the rules often fell to the wayside.  But overall I was still kicking ass and taking names in terms of the weight loss.

On Friday, March 29th I reached my lowest weight of 217, that’s down 14 pounds from January. But then Easter weekend came. In the course of 4 to 5 days, Kevin and I had dinner with my old bosses, 2 Easter dinners including dessert, lunch with my mom and sister and tons of other delicious food.  It’s safe to say, my waist line did not agree with all that food. My weight went back up to 222 and I couldn’t seem to shake it. So two weeks after Easter I decided to do a second round of Whole30 to see if I could shake the extra pounds I had gained. (Kevin and I both agreed to do a second round of Whole30 but this time we both would allow ourselves an alcoholic drink every once and awhile.) I started my second round on Monday, April 15th weighing in at 222 lbs.  In less than a week and a half I was back down to where I was right before Easter, 217 lbs! I’ve even seen a number smaller than 217 on the scale since then, but I’ll save that for a later post.

901095_10102570342859189_1326606800_o
Kevin at the finish line!

As the title of this post indicates I have cheated once or twice during this round. The Sunday after we started, Kevin ran his first half marathon at our alma mater. So after he ran, he was rightfully hungry so I told him I’d buy him something to eat to celebrate.  He chose to indulge in an old college favorite, a Fat Sandwich from the Grease trucks. So we picked him up a Fat Mojo, which consists of chicken fingers, mozzarella sticks, honey mustard, and french fries all on a grinder roll.  (In college it was really great drunk food, now it’s more like a heart attack waiting to happen.) But it’s delicious, I swear! Kevin ate most of the sandwich, but I did have 2 bites of it.  So there is cheat #1.  Cheat #2 happened tonight. I was seriously craving something sweet.  We didn’t have any fruit left except for clementines (which aren’t my favorite) and some sour grapes, and I mean seriously sour grapes.  So they weren’t going to fix my sweet craving.  After much debate with myself we decided to go get ice cream sandwiches from the local ice cream shop a few doors down.  It was delicious and cured my sweet craving.  The only bad thing is the ice cream sandwiches come in packs of 6 so Kevin is doing me a favor and bringing the other 4 into work tomorrow so I won’t eat anymore.  What a nice guy! And I will be going food shopping and picking up some more strawberries and blackberries so if I have another sweet craving, I’ll be able to kill it with good food!

This wouldn’t be a post without some pictures of some of my recent eats.

936208_10102570599829219_1610232955_n

Tonight’s dinner, spicy shrimp, roasted broccoli, tomato and avocado.

931245_10102570598651579_457973520_n

Dinner earlier this week, Indian spiced turkey loaf, garlic and smoked paprika roasted sweet potatoes and guacamole.

922704_10102570596930029_1472780269_n

Paleo and Whole30 “approved” banana bread muffins. Good breakfast option!

I promise to write again soon. I think I finally have my mojo back. Until tomorrow then!

Do you ever find that you need a break from something you consistently do? 

Leave a Reply

