Farmer's Market · Food · Fun · Local · Uncategorized · Whole30

Local Food Makes Me Happy!

Friday was a pretty nice day all around.  But then again, Fridays are always nice because they lead to the weekend! Kevin and I ended up going out to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants in the area, Ursino. At Ursino they try to emphasize and utilize as much locally grown ingredients as possible which is something I really believe in.  Plus they also serve locally brewed beverages.  Score! But seriously, I really love the local food movement and back in CT there was an awesome network of farmers and local producers all around the state.  Some of the farm markets back in CT were absolutely amazing, especially my all time favorite the Coventry Regional Farmer’s Market. Seriously if you are ever in the Coventry area, make sure to check it out! But back to my original local food tangent, I know New Jersey is called the Garden State for a reason, but I moved here at the end of the farm market season so I haven’t had a chance to explore the local food hot spots yet.  Luckily Ursino lists some of their suppliers on their website and lucky for me a few of them are right around the corner from me so at least I have some places to start this spring!

 

Day 41: Friday Feb 15, 2013:
Breakfast: 2 clementines, mixed nuts and a glass of almond milk
Lunch: Leftover shrimp curry, baby carrots, a few mixed nuts
Dinner: Appetizers – Fire and Ice oysters Dinner – Monkfish with root vegetables and lemon emulsion Dessert – Pear bread pudding Drinks – 2 D.L.T.s (Fancy Gin and Tonics)

dinner

Any who, back to dinner. We started with the Fire and Ice Oysters which consists of 3 Raw with Mignonette Granite and 3 Wood Oven Roasted with Garlic Confit and Herbs. Mmmm,  talk about delicious!! For my main course, I ended up trying the Monkfish with root vegetables and a lemon emulsion. That was my first time eating monkfish and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it and I’d certainly eat it again! For dessert, Kevin and I ended up splitting the Warm Bread Pudding with pear, cassis sauce and spiced brown sugar gelato.  I must admit, bread puddings have kinda become one of my favorite things ever and this bread pudding did not disappoint!   I didn’t even need to try the gelato because the bread pudding was that good! Yum, yum, yum!

If you are ever in the Union area of central Jersey, make sure to check out Ursino! It’s on the higher end in terms of prices, but for a special night or date it’s the perfect place and the food will not disappoint!

Day 42: Saturday Feb 16, 2013:
Brunch: 4 pancakes with cinnamon, vanilla extract and cardamom
16329_10102369201662759_1578690200_n
Dinner: Boneless Buffalo Chicken salad from Chili’s

 

Saturday was pretty cold but relaxed day.  The heat in our apartment hadn’t gone on since Thursday night so by Saturday it was getting pretty darn cold.  I was wearing multiple layers of socks and shirts, etc.  Brrrr! Talk about cold! We ended up going out and about just to get out of the cold apartment.  When we walked into Target, Kevin and I both looked at each other and said “Ah, I remember what heat feels like!” After meandering around Target we went out for an early dinner at Chili’s.  The Boneless Buffalo salad was good but nothing I would feel the need to ever eat again.  But then again that’s pretty much how I feel about Chili’s in general. After Chili’s we walked around Barnes and Noble for a while, trying to avoid going back to the cold, cold, apartment. But eventually we returned, hoping the heat would be back on, but unfortunately it was just colder.  Yikes! So we slept under even more blankets that night.

Saturday was also weigh-in day. Drum roll please . . . my new current weigh you ask? That would be 220.8! I’m officially in the double digits for pounds lost. Hell yes! I also realized lately that I completely forgot to retake my measurements at the 30 day mark. Talk about fail.  So I might end up taking measurements next Saturday and post them or I might end up waiting until I hit the 60 day mark.  I do have one current weight-loss goal in mind that I would love to accomplish.  It might be possible if I get my ass in gear in terms of exercise. I’ll definitely keep you all updated if I think I might be able to get it done!

SW: 231 lbs
CW: 220.8 lbs
Total Weight Loss: 10.2 lbs

 

What’s your favorite restaurant to go to for special occasions? 
So far in NJ, Ursino is our go-to fancy restaurant.  I swear it’s worth every penny.

What books are you currently reading? 

5 thoughts on “Local Food Makes Me Happy!

  1. My fave restaurant to go to for special occasions is Feng in Hartford. Thankfully we’re going there this weekend! Books; well, a couple: The Great Gatsby and The Man In The Gray Flannel Suit. I’m really not sure why I can’t just read one book at a time…
    And I totally agree with you on Chilli’s; I used to LOVE them but now I realize it’s really not all that good.

  2. Just about the only thing I’ll eat at Chili’s in the fajitas. If you look at their nutrition facts, a lot of their salads have more calories than other things on the menu! We don’t like chain style restaurants very much at all and would rather give our money to locally owned and operated restaurants. Honestly we spend the same amount so we figure why not get better food as we support locally owned businesses.

    Our favorite special occasion restaurant isn’t in the United States, it’s in Grand Case, St. Martin!

    1. Yeah I agree about Chili’s. Not a place I would normally go. We only really went 1. to get out of the freezing apt and 2. b/c Kevin had a gift card. I have no desire what so ever to go again anytime soon.

      Sounds like I need to check our your favorite restaurant!

  3. We go to Cavey’s Downstairs in Manchester for super special occasions but not since Oliver was born because it takes forever! It is one of those places that doesn’t even take your dinner order until your appetizer is eaten! And it’s really expensive. Really a fun place to go and pretend that we are fancy though! Everywhere else we liked has closed (a seafood place here in South Windsor and a French place downtown where we celebrated our first Valentine’s Day). I’d say we are restaurant bad luck but two restaurants closing is nothing compared to my sister and her husband who have had to pick a different restaurant every year for their wedding anniversary (six years this past September) because they keep closing! So now them going to a restaurant for their anniversary dinner is like the restaurant kiss of death!

    1. It’s nice (and fun) to pretend your fancy sometimes!

      Your poor sister and her husband! Remind me never to bring them out to dinner to any restaurant that I like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

