Food · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

Playing Catch Up and Battling Bad Habits

So I’ve been slacking in more ways than one lately.  Here’s a break down of most of last week’s meals.

 

Day 37: Monday Feb 11, 2013:
Breakfast: 2 clementines and some almonds
Lunch: Tomato soup, baby carrots, almonds,
Dinner: Ground turkey sweet potato hash with spinach, tomatoes, broccoli, carrots and garlic with Old Bay seasoned green beans
 379289_10102358699065049_969469649_n
Day 38: Tuesday Feb 12, 2013:
Breakfast: 2 clementines and some almonds
Lunch: Leftover turkey “hash” and green beans, applesauce, baby carrots, a few almonds
Dinner: Turkey and chicken burger with avocados and tomatoes with sweet potato fries with chipotle mayo

600647_10102358698650879_1163675945_n

Day 39: Wednesday, Feb 13, 2013:
Breakfast: 2 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Bone broth, baby carrots, almonds, applesauce
Dinner: Slowcooker shrimp curry with sweet potatoes, celery, broccoli, tomatoes
65987_10102369196807489_1460030309_n
Day 40: Thursday, Feb 14, 2013:
Breakfast: 2 clementines with mixed nuts, a glass of almond milk
Lunch: Leftover shrimp curry, baby carrots, some mixed nuts
Dinner: 3 pieces of cheese pizza 😦 and two gin and tonics
521328_10102369196802499_1727347046_n

Some random thoughts about last week.  I’ve developed the bad habit of hitting the snooze button on my alarm in the mornings again. It’s not only making me late to work sometimes but it’s not allowing me the time I need to have a proper breakfast in the mornings.  Clementines and mixed nuts are not the breakfast of champions, especially when eaten in front of my computer almost 2 hours after I have waken up.  It’s not even that I’m tired in the mornings, I’d just honestly stay in bed under my warm blankets than get up and go to work.  But that shit is not going to fly anymore.  No more snooze button for me!

Another thought, I’ve also slowly started going to bed later and later.  I was doing really well and had been in bed at 10:30 every night and generally asleep by 11pm until lately.  Some nights I haven’t even been getting into bed until 11:30.  Well that changed this weekend, thank goodness, and my goal will continue to be for me to be in bed by 10:30 nights before I have work.

Thursday night Kevin and I were aiming to go to see the new Die Hard movie.  In the time  we had from when we got home to the showing time we didn’t have time to make dinner, so we opted for a quick pizza.  We decided to try a new pizza place and we were both pretty disappointed.  Bummer. I have yet to find a really good thin crust pizza in Jersey which at this point is okay because pizza is the last thing I need right now.  We left half an hour before the movie was scheduled to start but due to the awesome (read as shitty as all hell) traffic, we ended up arriving 20 minutes after it started.  So we ended up turning around, driving back home and having some drinks instead.  Overall it ending up being a laid back kinda of night.

What are some bad habits that you continue to battle? 

Leave a Reply

