Food · Fun · Uncategorized · Whole30

Snow Day!

I honestly can’t remember much about Thursday.  That’s what I get for slacking on writing this blog. Bad me, very bad me!  I did keep to the Whole30 guidelines for a second day after reintroducing non-gluten grains.  If I recall correctly I still felt pretty darn good! Rice and non-gluten grains are not something I felt a huge desire to include back into my diet but it’s certainly something I’ll probably have every once and awhile.

Day 33: Thursday Feb 7, 2013:
Breakfast: 2 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Pork chop, baby carrots, applesauce
Dinner: Chicken and spicy sausage curry with sweet potatoes and broccoli
535669_10102348109152319_1210192516_n

I was throughly thrilled to come home and make curry on Thursday night. It was so yummy and delicious and I could eat it everyday forever! It was a perfect meal for a day before a blizzard.  Warm, hearty and super yummy!

Friday was much more memorable than Thursday, mainly because I magically only had half a day of work.  By some miracle, my company decided to close at noon due to the impending blizzard.  Normally this would not be a miracle, but my company is known for never closing unless the building is flooding.  They’ve even made people come into work when there was no power apparently.  So we were all pleasantly surprised when we got an email saying the office was closing at noon. Hooray!!

So not only did I get out of work early, I was also able to get to the food store (not for milk and bread like all the crazy people) and get everything Kevin and I needed to make our tomato soups on Saturday. I was also able to make it to Target to pick up a few things I needed for a project over the weekend and make it back to the apartment by 2:30.  Score for me! It was mildly weird being home so early I wasn’t sure what to do with myself. I think I ended up just lounging on the couch, under a blanket for the rest of the afternoon watching the snow fall.  It was lazy and delightful all rolled in to one.

Day 34: Friday Feb 8, 2013: 
Breakfast: 2 clementines and almonds
Lunch: Leftover chicken and sausage curry, baby carrots
Dinner: Chicken and pork Mexican inspired soup, guacamole
149973_10102348111243129_1148776370_n

Kevin was in charge of dinner Friday night and he ended up making a slow cooker Mexican inspired chicken and pork soup.  It was pretty good, not exactly my favorite because it had a few things in it that aren’t my favorite like peppers and mushrooms (I know, I know). But overall the taste was pretty good and the warmth of soup was greatly appreciated on the cold, snowy night.  He also ended up making some guacamole so I wouldn’t starve since he knew the soup wasn’t going to be my favorite thing. He’s so nice to me!

377599_10102348110913789_2119336839_n

I also enjoyed a nice cup of mint hot chocolate!! It was utterly delicious and utterly crappy for me.  Who knew hot chocolate would have soy by-products in it? Not this girl but thanks to the Whole30 I knew what to look for in the ingredients list.  The sad thing is that I have a few more of these left.  So while I won’t be buying anymore processed items like hot chocolate, I do think that I will probably end up slowly drinking them, one by one.  They’ll end up being an occasional treat when I need a pick me up or some comfort.

 

What’s something delicious that you know you shouldn’t have but still do every once and awhile?

 

What’s your favorite thing to do on a snowy night?
Mine would be to curl up in front of a fire with my puppy and read a book or watch a good movie.  Kevin could come too!

 

Leave a Reply

