Fitness · Food · Fun · Uncategorized · Whole30

6 Days Left and Counting!

Monday was one of those days that didn’t start well and didn’t get better at the end.  It was the first day during the Whole30 that I woke up tired and when I say tired, I really mean it.  I had trouble saying awake during my commute to the office, the slow traffic certainly didn’t help that situation.  Then at work I had to deal with people who apparently are unable to read the screen in front of their face and felt the end to drag me into the middle of issues as a middle man.  I wanted to scream at everyone all day “Just read the damn screen! The information is right in front of you!” but I didn’t. Instead I just complained about the various situations to my co-worker.  So it’s safe to say when I got home, I wasn’t in the best of moods so the night didn’t get much better either.  I did get my workout for the day in.  It went well overall.  We did manage to watch some of our Monday night shows on TV which was nice.  I’m really liking Kevin Bacon’s new show The Following.  Anyone else watching that?

Day 5: hiitbody – Rock Hard (HiitBody #4)
http://www.dailyhiit.com/videos/rock-hard-hiitbody-4

As many as you can for 50 seconds, 10 seconds rest. 3 rounds.

1. Pogo Left: 10, 11, 11
2. Pogo Right: 13, 12, 12
3. Switch Lunge and Twist (10lb ketteball): 10, 11, 8
4. Reverse Curl Toe Touch Abs (10lb kettlebell): 9, 11, 10

 

I liked the Pogo exercise. It was a good test of my balance which is not as good as it should be but it’s getting there.  I was much better at the pogo exercise on my right which is understandable since it’s my dominant side. But it was interesting to see how much easier it was.  I was able to jump a good few more inches on my right side than my left. Just something else to work on right? My switch lunges are terrible.  I can’t seem to move my feet fast enough to get them fully switched.  So for half of those, I was hopping to switch my feet and then stepping out farther into the lunge.  I loved the reverse curl toe touch exercise.  It hurt so good! I actually ended up really liking this workout and felt pretty damn good after it.

Day 23: Monday Jan 28, 2013: 
Breakfast: 2 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Bone broth, 2 leftover Indian Spiced Sweet Potato patties, baby carrots, almonds, pomegranate seeds
Dinner: Deconstructed “tacos” (mexican spiced ground beef on a bed of lettuce, tomatoes and avocados) and mexican spiced potatoes

310059_10102274173699559_1209777248_n

Kevin cooked the deconstructed taco which was good.  We both thought it needed something else to make it really good.  I was thinking maybe some of the Dreamy Avocado dressing drizzled on top? But who knows.  Not ever dish can be your favorite.

Tuesday was better in terms of tiredness.  I didn’t wake up as sleepy as I did on Monday and didn’t almost fall sleep during my commute.  Work went okay, same old, same old I guess.  I don’t know.  I’m hoping my recent feelings toward work are just because I’ve been kinda grumpy this week.  Normally it’s a bit not tolerable than it has been this week.  So I guess we’ll see.

I was supposed to get in a workout on Tuesday but I left work late, got home late and it was my night to make dinner.  So I ran out of time for a workout. Not too big of a deal, I figured I’d just shift around my rest days.  So Tuesday was an impromptu rest day.

Day 24: Tuesday Jan 29, 2013:
Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Leftover deconstructed taco salad, baby carrots, almonds, pomegranate seeds, applesauce
Dinner: Chicken thigh and spicy turkey sausage curry with sweet potatoes and broccoli

76369_10102276278731059_1869333490_n

This curry was pretty much the same as my earlier ones except that I used a different curry paste.  This curry paste was much more milder and even a bit sweet.  It was pretty delicious but I think I prefer the red curry with a little spice in it over this one.

539099_10102278332699889_853627821_n

One good thing that came out of Tuesday was that Kevin bought me flowers when he came home.  He can be so sweet sometimes!

 

What’s your new favorite TV show? 
Kevin and I are both enjoying The Following.  We would definitely recommend it!

 

What’s your best pick-me-up for a day when you’re feeling tired or down? 
I don’t really have anything, other than curling up under a blanket
and either reading or watching TV.

 

Leave a Reply

