Fitness · Food · Uncategorized

End of Week 3!

I know understand the phrase “Living for the weekends.” After years of working on the weekends, a Monday thru Friday 9-5 job had a certain appeal.  And I’ve certainly enjoyed it so far.  But man Monday thru Friday can be rough. So the weekends are always a welcome reprieve and this weekend was no exception.  Kevin and I were pretty lazy Saturday morning.  I didn’t even get out of bed until 11. To be fair, I was awake before then but bed is just so comfy sometimes I don’t want to get out! First thing out of bed I got my second day of the BodyRock/DailyHiit challenge done.

Day 3: hiitreps Taken 2 the Limit (HiitReps #4)
http://www.dailyhiit.com/videos/taken-2-limit-hiitreps-4-0
Push-up and Punch (5 Left and 5 Right)
Shoulder Lift, Squat, Burpee (10)
Drop It Like It’s Hot (Clean & Press, jump forward, 3 squat jumps, jump back) (10)
Tuck Jump, Squat Jump (10)
Do 10 reps of each for 3 rounds.
First Round: 12 minutes
Second Round: 11 minutes
Third Round: 11 minutes

My first thoughts about this was “harsh workout”.  But when I though about it the only thing that I though would really give me problems would be the burpees.  As previously stated my burpee form sucks.  So I wasn’t looking forward to more.  So I struggled through them for the first round.  For the second and third round, I decided to slow down and work on my burpee form, and BOOM! I was actually faster when I did them correctly, who know right? I also actually attempted tuck jumps for this workout.  They went okay but they are pretty sad.  I think my vertical tuck jump is all of 6 inches.  Sad face.  But again, it’s a work in progress.

After my workout, Kevin and I finally got the rest of our day started. We didn’t have much food in the apt, so food shopping and laundry were first on the list.  Once we got food in the apt, you would have thought we were starving animals!  Which we pretty much were because I don’t think we actually ate until 3.  So hungry!

Day 21: Saturday Jan 26, 2013:
Lunch: 3 eggs with chipotle mayo, tomato and avocado
419710_10102271448620639_863003875_n
Dinner: “Bang Bang Shrimp” on a bed of romaine lettuce and Indian Sweet Potato patties
528853_10102271448885109_46296692_n
After lunch, I ended up doing a mix of cooking and cleaning.  I made some homemade chicken broth with some thigh bones, wings and chicken pieces I had saved in the freezer.  After that was made, I had to make dinner was which awesome and damn delicious! I dare say one of my more awesome meals in the past 21 days. The Bang Bang Shrimp was banging!! I know, I know, how many times could I use the word bang in one sentence. The Indian Sweet Potato Patties were pretty damn awesome too! Please see below!
Whole30 “Bang Bang” Shrimp – Adapted from Paleokitchensnyc.com
http://paleokitchensync.com/2013/01/23/paleo-bang-bang-shrimp/
1 lb Shrimp (Peeled & Deveined)
1/2 cup of Olive Oil Mayo
3-4 Tbsp. Hot Sauce
1/2 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes
2 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
Garlic powder
Salt & Pepper to taste
Season shrimp with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Heat the coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat. In the mean time, combine the mayo, hot sauce, and red pepper flakes in a bowl. Once the oil is hot, add shrimp, stir frequently. When the shrimp are done (about 3-5 minutes) add them to the sauce bowl and stir until coated. Serve over some lettuce and enjoy!!
Indian Spiced Sweet Potato Patties – Adapted from Soni’s Food
http://www.sonisfood.com/2012/04/indian-spiced-sweet-potato-patties.html
3 medium of 4-5 small sweet potatoes (makes about 8-10)
2 green chilies, like jalapenos, chopped finely
1-2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cumin (I used cumin seed)
1 teaspoon curry (the original recipe called for ground coriander, but I didn’t have any so I improvised.)
3 tablespoons almond flour
salt to taste
1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil
Wash the sweet potatoes and bake it in the oven at 350 degrees for 50 mins to 1 hour until cooked. Once cooked and cool to the touch, peel the skin off of the sweet potatoes and mash them.  Add all ingredients, except oil, to sweet potatoes and mix. Take about 1/4 cup of mixture, roll into a ball and flatten to make a thin patty.  Once all mix is in patty form, refrigerate for about 20 minutes. After patties have been in the refrigerator for 20 minutes, heat coconut oil in a non-stick pan over medium heat.  Cook on  each side until golden brown.

 

I might just be making these banging shrimp again this week.  No lie, they are just that awesome and so easy to make!! As long as you have the olive oil mayo already made the longest part of this recipe is the cooking of the shrimp.

Kevin and I ended up having a bunch of friends over after dinner.  It was a pretty damn good time. It reminds me why I was excited to move to Jersey back in October.  Hopefully I’ll start seeing them more. I will say, I’m pretty darn proud of myself.  Everyone was drinking while I was sipping on seltzer and when 2 pizzas where ordered I didn’t have any.  I also wouldn’t let them leave the leftover pizza in our apt in case I might have been tempted.

So today was the end of week 3. Hooray! And with the end of week 3 brings the weigh-in. Drum roll please . . . . . I’m currently weighing in at 225 lbs.  Not as much as I had hoped to lose this week (I had seen 224 during the week) but it’s still a loss so I’ll take it! Here’s hope I finish out the next 9 days strong!

SW: 231
CW: 225
Total Weight Loss: 6 lbs
2 thoughts on “End of Week 3!

  1. Awesome Maggie! Your posts have been very inspirational! As I sit here watching TV I am certainly inspired to put in an exercise DVD and try and lose the baby weight!

  2. Thanks Jen! Glad to hear it! And you can do it! I’m certainly a fan of the BodyRock videos, they’re quick and don’t require much or any equipment. Are you allowed to start working out yet?

Leave a Reply

