Fitness · Food · Fun · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

New 30 Day Challenge and Whole30 Nachos!

Thursday was a decent enough day.  Work is slowly becoming lame.  I really like the people I work with but I’m beginning to realize I don’t necessarily like the people I work for.  So work is just work. Blah. I actually managed to get home before 5:30 for the first time since before Christmas which was pretty awesome.  I didn’t know I could be more excited to come home to a slow cooker meal. I wasn’t really in the mood to cook too much so my timing was perfect.  Also knew that I had to get my ass kicked by the first day of the new BodyRock/DailyHiit 30 Day Challenge so I didn’t want to be distracted by making dinner. Talk about good planning because boy did that workout kick my butt!

 

Day 19: Thursday Jan 24, 2013: 
Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Leftover chicken, carrots, pomegranate seeds, almonds
Dinner: Beef stew with carrots, celery and potatoes

64227_10102271442108689_102470201_n

Day 1 (1/24/13): hiitbody – Fit Test – Hiitbody #3
http://www.dailyhiit.com/videos/fit-test-hiitbody-3
(As many as you can for 50 seconds then 10 seconds rest)
1. Squat Jumps: 30
2. Push-ups (on my knees): 25
3. Burpees: 4
4. High Knees: 60
5. Switch Lunges (stepping out instead of jumping): 15
6. Tuck Jumps (did step-ups instead): 23
7. Tricep Dips: 14
8. Surfboards: 13
9. 1/2 Burpee and Monkey: 7
10. Switch Jumps: 30
11. Side Lunges: 15
12. Frog Jumps: 8

 

In the middle of the burpees I realized that the cold I thought was over had just moved into my lungs.  I swear I was hacking up a lung for the rest of the damn workout.  In general my burpee form sucks therefore I hate them. But hopefully over the next 30 days they will improve.  Everything else was pretty straight forward but I struggled due to the hacking up the lung thing and the out of shape thing.  But it’s a work in progress

Friday was much the same as Thursday.  I was a little sore from Thursdays workout but it was a good sore not a painful I hurt myself sore. I was supposed to do the second day of the challenge but the second half of the day I had a killer headache.  I ended up just relaxing when I got home and let Kevin make some delicious-ness for dinner.  And man was it delicious!!! I mean, the best meal he has made! Let me introduce his California Chicken BLT Sweet Potato Nachos.  Mmm, I’m starting to drool just thinking about them!

Day 20: Friday Jan 25, 2013:
Breakfast: 1 egg and some applesauce
Lunch: Leftover beef stew, carrots, applesauce, pomegranate seeds and some almonds
Dinner: Kevin’s California Chicken BLT Sweet Potato Nachos

530739_10102271445576739_858024536_n

Kevin’s California Chicken BLT Sweet Potato Nachos

To Make the Sweet Potato Chips: Slice your sweet potatoes thinly, sprinkle with olive oil and salt and pepper.  Bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes per side.

Meanwhile, chop and cook bacon.  Chop and season chicken with salt and pepper.  Cook chicken throughly.  (We cooked all meat in coconut oil  but you can cook it anyway you like.) Chop lettuce (we used romaine).

Make guacamole.  Kevin likes Alton Brown’s recipe, and I must say it is now become my favorite!

Once everything has be made and cooked, place sweet potato chips on the a plate. Layer with guacamole, chicken and bacon.  Top with lettuce. Enjoy!!

Tips: We left our bacon in larger strips, we both agree it would be better the next time if it was chopped so you can more evenly distribute the deliciousness that is bacon. Also next time we might try a double layer of chips.

Overall that dinner was ridiculously delicious and it was all Kevin’s idea. He’s a genius! A genius I say!  I swear I’d eat those once a week and never get sick of them. We might be  making them again when we watch the Superbowl!

What’s the best dish you ever created?

Leave a Reply

