Food · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

End of Week 2

Saturday, I woke up to a full-blown cold. Sniffles, sore throat, watery eyes and general yucky-ness. I swear my boss got me sick.  He’s been coming to work sick the past two weeks even after his doctor told him he needed to stay home and rest for 7 days.  But instead he’s continued to come to work and spread his germs.  I already told him that he’s going to end up getting all of us sick and one day it would be just him at work because all of us would be home sick.  I doubt it would happen since we all need the money, but it would serve him right.

 

Luckily I got to sleep in on Saturday morning and just roll out of bed when I wanted.  Kevin had to go to work for a few hours so I was able to take my time getting up and ready to face the day. I spent some quality time cleaning the kitchen and made my first real batch of homemade applesauce.  After my first attempt with applesauce, I made a few adjustments and this time it came out pretty damn well.

Slowcooker Homemade Applesauce
10-12 apples of your choice, I used Braeburns, peeled, cored and sliced
1 cup of water
1-2 teaspoons of cinnamon (I used 2)
1-2 teaspoons of cardamom (I used 2 but I also love cardamom. It is one of my all time favorite flavors! )
1-2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (I used 1 tsp of my homemade vanilla and should have added another teaspoon)

 

Add all ingredients to the slowcooker and mix.  Cook on high for 3-4 hours, stirring occasionally or cook on low for about 8 hours, stirring occasionally.  I ended up cooking mine on high for about 3 and a half hours since I ended up making this towards the end of the day. If I had started this in the morning I would have cooked it on low.

 

We decided to go out for lunch on Saturday.  Our first time eating out since starting the Whole30.  I didn’t think it would be as difficult as it ended up being.  When you’re cooking for yourself for a while, and then you go out to eat, you forget how many things have cheese on them! Even the salads! It was kind of insane how many things had cheese, or grains in them.  I wasn’t even sure if the salad I had was completely Whole30 compliant.  I ended up the with grilled Atlantic Salmon salad with mixed greens, cucumbers, apricots and a roasted pineapple dressing that I asked for on the side.  It was supposed to come with feta cheese which I asked them to take off.  Overall the salad was okay although I wish I had more dressing.  I barely used any of the dressing provided since I wasn’t sure what it consisted of. Kevin ended up having the lettuce pulled pork cups which he thought were decent but nothing special. Overall it was nice just to get out of the apartment and to eat something that we didn’t have to cook.

Day 14: Saturday, Jan 19, 2013
Breakfast: 3 eggs with a schmear of chipotle mayo
Lunch: Grilled Atlantic salmon salad with greens and apricots

321411_10102253061468639_1253130017_n

Dinner: Beef meatloaf with roasted sweet potatoes and broccoli

555314_10102253061967639_431591362_n

That night, I made dinner.  Remember these babies, Maggie’s Mini Meatloafs? Well I ended up doing this same recipe again except I formed the meat into a loaf form and baked that puppy for about 30 to 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Finish off the meal, I kept it simple and just roasted some sweet potatoes and broccoli with olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper.  Kevin and I can’t seem to get enough sweet potatoes, so they can pretty much always be found on our dinner plate.

After dinner, Kevin and I decided to have some fun and broke out Rock Band. Apparently I’m decent at the keytar when it’s on easy.  Kevin had some fun belting out some lyrics.  It was a nice change in pace and fun time.

So Saturday was the end of week 2 and with it came my second weigh in.  Drum roll please . . . . I weighed in at 226.2.  I lost .4 lbs.  A bummer, but I now understand why they recommend not weighing yourself during the 30 day duration. I feel fantastic and feel like I should have lost more but I didn’t and it sucks.  But what are you going to do? I might be bummed I didn’t lose more but I’m not about to go out and ruin what progress I have made by eating a piece of cake or some cookies, or by making a pot of mac and cheese, like I might have before.  I’m going to stick the 30 days out and see how I do and frankly I’ve lost almost 5 lbs in two weeks, that’s pretty damn good. But hopefully next week I’ll more progress to report on the weight loss front.  Until then I’m going to continue to focus on what I’m eating and how I’m feeling.

 

 

SW: 231
CW: 226.2
Total Weight Loss: 4.8 lbs
Leave a Reply

