Food · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

We’ve Entered the DD: Double Digits!

We’re in the double digits baby! When I started this, 30 days seemed so LONG! But now as I’m a third of the way through, it seems so short.  Honestly, when I first started explaining the Whole30 to people they always had the same reaction “30 days?!?! WIthout bread, cheese, cookies AND alcohol??? How will you ever be able to do that? Why would you want to do that?” My answer was always “Well, why not?” Honestly, why not? I don’t need those things to survive. They aren’t life or death. They’re options. They’re a voluntarily choice.  So what is the harm in going without them? “Well how will you get your calcium if you’re not drinking milk?” they ask.  I’ll get my calcium through other sources, like vegetables. It’s not like I’ve been drinking a gallon of milk every week lately any ways.  (If you’re looking for some good reading on calcium you should definitely read Dallas and Melissa’s section on Dairy in the book. They bring up some very interesting points. Seriously, you should just read the book.) I always say, if for some reason the Whole30 doesn’t make me feel any better, then I can just go back to the way I was eating before.  But shocker, it’s making me feel SO much better! I’ve had more energy in the past 10 days since . . . I don’t even know when.  Honestly. It’s utterly fantastic. So if you’re looking for a change, I urge you to read the book or check out their website. It’s only 30 days, it seems like a long time but it’s not. I swear.  You can do it! 

 

Day 10: Tuesday Jan 15, 2013
Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: A cup of bone broth, baby carrots, mixed nuts and a Braeburn apple
Dinner: Chicken thighs and spicy sausage red curry with sweet potatoes, carrots and broccoli

379198_10102240108212069_1895068552_n

This curry was pretty easy.

Chicken Thighs and Spicy Pork Sausage with Vegetable in Red Curry Sauce (Based off of the basic curry recipe in “It Starts With Food”)

Serves 2 hungry people with a little for leftovers

6 links of spicy pork sausage, sliced
4 chicken things, cut into chunks
coconut oil to cook the meats in
Mixed vegetable of your choosing, the options are endless. I used 1 sweet potato, cut into 1″ chunks, a head of broccoli, cut into chunks and 1 carrot cut into 1/4″ slices.
Red curry paste (I used a Taste of Thai – Red Curry Paste)
1 can coconut milk

 

Cook sausage and chicken thighs separately in about a tablespoon of coconut oil.

While meat is cooking, wet sauté vegetables of your choosing. (I peeled and cut the sweet potatoes into 1″ chunks. I then wet sautéed them. To wet sauté: Put a non-stick skillet on over high heat. Add about 1/4 cup of water to the skillet. When the water boils, add vegetable of your choice. Cooked to desired done-ness.  My sweet potatoes took about  8 minutes, give or take 1 or 2 minutes. I wet sautéed the broccoli and carrots together, the same way as the sweet potatoes. I ended up cooking the broccoli and carrots a minute or two too long. They were a tad mushy for me, so for crisper broccoli and carrots, sauté for about 4 minutes. In general, keep a close eye on your vegetables while wet sautéing.)

After your meat and vegetables are cooked, in the pan that you cooked your meat in, over medium-high heat, add 1/2 cup to 1 cup of coconut milk (I ended up using the whole can, b/c I didn’t want to waste anything and we love sauces!) and 2 to 3 tablespoons of a curry paste of your choosing.  Stir and mix together.  Once the sauce is mixed throughly, cook the sauce until it thickens a bit, about 5 or so minutes.  Then add in all meat and vegetables.  Stir to coat all ingredients.  Cook for about 5 to 10 minutes, longer enough to warm everything.  Serve. (For curries, we prefer bowls, you get more of the sauce that way. Yummy!) Enjoy!

71894_10102242531969839_450747102_n

The curry paste I used. I had trouble finding it until I went to a Stop and Shop back in CT. But I would assume a large grocery store should carry it. Or possibly an Asian grocery?

530679_10102242532603569_1995904992_n

Produced in Thailand for a company in Old Saybrook, CT. My old hang out! It was a funny surprise when I was making dinner the other night.

Day 11: Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013
Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Leftover chicken and sausage curry, baby carrots, mixed nuts
Dinner: Almond oregano crusted flounder, garlic green beans, roasted broccoli, roasted tomato with thyme, oregano, basil and garlic filled with avocado, half of an avocado with salt and pepper
74352_10102242482089799_2137806401_n

Kevin took a day off from work today and spent some quality time with himself.  So he figured since he was home all day, he’s make something other than a one skillet meal so he decided to step it up tonight.  Talk about delicious-ness! He egged and “breaded” the flounder filets with almond meal and dried oregano.  He blanched and then roasted the green beans with lots of yummy garlic and roasted the broccoli. He also cut a tomato in half and de-seeded it and roasted it with thyme, basil, oregano and garlic and then “stuffed” them with fresh avocado. Talk about delicious!!

Side note: The curry was even MORE delicious the next day for lunch. I’m thinking on Sunday I’m making another batch and packaging it up for lunches on Monday and Tuesday.

Another thing I love about the Whole30? I’m not only cooking more but I’m cooking different things that I wouldn’t normally be cooking or try to cook. So I’m expanding my horizons and I’m loving it!

 

 

What’s the newest thing you’ve tried to cook and loved? Or hated? 

Leave a Reply

