Fitness · Food · Health · Uncategorized · Whole30

Day 3 and 4: Bring on the Food!

So day 4 is almost over and so far I must say this experiment is going pretty well.  Yesterday I felt awesome! I had energy throughout the entire day.  Normally I start crashing by 3 and by the time I get home all I want to do is sit down in front of the TV and never move again, let alone make something for dinner.  But yesterday I found myself roaring to go the whole day. I came home and was happy, energetic, joking around with boyfriend and was more than ready to make some dinner.  Even boyfriend mentioned today that I seem happier (which is saying something b/c I’ve been kind of a bummer on and off since I moved to NJ).

Today was pretty much the same. I woke pretty easily, although I was a little sluggish getting ready for the day, but once I was up, I was up.  I felt pretty good throughout the work day, although I wasn’t as chipper as I was yesterday but I think that had more to do with some work stress and just things at work in general. When I got home I decided to dust off my yoga mat, the first time since we’ve moved. Hooray! I’ve had a killer pain in my left hip/thigh throughout most of the day today, I though some quality time with Pigeon Pose might help. Luckily it did! I’ll definitely have to break out the yoga mat some more though.  I realized how much I miss it today, even just 15 minutes made me feel so much better!

Food has been pretty delicious the past two days, although I did have the same breakfast and lunch the past two days. But they were yummy! Dinners have been the time for some fun experimentations, even boyfriend is in on it!  Read on!

Day 3: Tuesday Jan 8, 2013
Breakfast: 3 eggs and hot sauce
Lunch: 2 salmon cakes topped with tomatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper, almonds, Braeburn apple, baby carrots, a cup of “Bone” broth
282818_10102223045860159_1380629753_n
Dinner: 2 “Mini Meatloafs”, tomatoes, sweet potato fries with olive, salt, pepper and chipotle

282987_10102223057387059_222281677_n

So these “mini meatloafs” started out as burgers with a little extra, but they turned out more like meatloafs.  Overall they were pretty darn delicious but I think next time I would actually bake it as a meatloaf instead of like burgers.

Maggie’s Mini Meatloafs:

Approx 2 lbs of ground beef (I used a little less than 2 lbs and that feed both me and boyfriend)
3/4 cup almond meal
1 egg
dried parsley
dried thyme
dried crushed rosemary
ground curry
garlic powder
salt and pepper
olive oil

Combine first three ingredients together in a bowl.  Mix throughly. Add a little more almond meal depending on how “wet” the mixture is. Add the last 7 ingredients (I added a few dashes of the herbs and a few shakes of the spices).  Mix. Season to your taste or even switch up the spices if you like!

Heat olive oil in a pan over medium high heat.  Add meatloafs once the pan is hot. Cook to desired done-ness.

Like I said, the next time I cook this, I would actually form the meat mixture in a loaf form and bake it in the oven.  Either way it’s pretty darn yummy!!

Day 4: Wednesday Jan 9, 2013
Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Same as Tuesday. 2 salmon cakes topped with tomatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper, almonds, Braeburn apple, baby carrots, a cup of “Bone” broth

544042_10102223047551769_1183235598_n

Dinner: Garlic and pepper shrimp and sausage over cucumbers, carrots, peas and broccoli on a bed of baby spinach.

63693_10102225305661499_1883987043_n

Boyfriend made this dinner and it was absolutely delicious! One of the best we’ve had so far I think! He had originally wanted to make Garlic Shrimp over Zucchini “pasta” which is essentially just zucchini shredding into noodle like lengths but we didn’t have any zucchini so he improvised.  An awesome example of use what you have!

It’s my turn to cook dinner tomorrow night. I’m still not sure what I’m going to make yet so I guess I better go find some awesome idea!

Do you do yoga? What’s your favorite pose?

4 thoughts on “Day 3 and 4: Bring on the Food!

Leave a Reply

