Fitness · Food · Health · Medical · Ninja/SS · Uncategorized · Whole30

I’m Back!

That’s right everyone body! I’m back and I’m here to stay!

At the end of the year, my sister let me borrow a book “It Starts With Food” by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig.  It outlines their Whole30 program which is designed to improve your overall health.  To do this all foods that you eat must meet their 4 Good Food Standards.

1: Promote a healthy psychological response. *
2. Promote a healthy hormonal response.
3. Support a healthy gut.
4. Support immune function and minimize inflammation.

*Taken directly from “It Starts With Food”

 

All 4 of those standards seem like common sense to me and it got me thinking, “Why the french toast haven’t I been doing that in the first place?”.  Food should make you better, feel better, be better, do better. So why is it that we make it so complicated?

It’s an interesting thought to me that the very food I was eating could be what was making me feel sick, bloated and sore.  That it could be the very thing causing my joint pain.  Could it be directly affecting my Sjogren’s Syndrome? I know I have a very mild case, but it’s an interesting thought.  So I figured what the hell, I’m going to give this a try.  I’ll follow this program for 30 days, and see how I feel throughout it and after it.  I’m intrigued to see how I do during the “re-introduction” phase but I’m getting ahead of myself.

So 30 days, no grains, no legumes, no sugar, no dairy, no alcohol.  I can do this, I can do this.

Here after is my account of the next thirty days.  I’ll be chronicling all food eaten and all exercise I partake in.  For the first week, I’m focusing just on getting use to the new food schedule and getting into a rhythm with it. Hopefully by week 2 I’ll be adding in some exercise, probably some BodyRock (they’re starting a new 30 day challenge on the 10th!) and maybe I’ll finally use my free membership to the YMCA that I have (now that would be a miracle!).

Day 1: Sunday Jan 6, 2013

Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: 2 salmon cakes
Dinner: Asian Beef and Broccoli

150598_10102220880803949_1484216080_n

Day 2: Monday Jan 7, 2013

Breakfast: 3 eggs with hot sauce
Lunch: Multiple lettuce wraps with leftover chicken and ground beef, chipotle mayo and tomatoes. Braeburn apple, 2 handfuls of whole almonds and a handful of baby carrots
Dinner: Indian Curry with Chicken Thighs

394835_10102220880858839_1515303156_n

So far, everything we (Boyfriend is participating) has actually been pretty easy to make.  The first two dinners we made are one skillet meals which can’t get any easier really.  The most time-consuming thing I’ve made so far have been the salmon cakes.  I doubled the recipe though and they store well in the refrigerator.  Prefect for on-the-go lunches! I also have my first batch of “Bone Broth” (which is really just homemade meat broth, in this case, chicken broth) going in my slow cooker.  I hope to have some ready to go for tomorrow before work.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Overall I’ve felt pretty good. Although I probably choose the worst week to start this, craving sugar like whoa. But I managed to resist the cookies someone brought into work today.  So one day at a time. One day at a time.

 

Are you trying anything new for the new year?

What’s your favorite Whole 30 meal? 

4 thoughts on “I’m Back!

    1. You should! They were pretty darn delicious, especially the Indian Curry with Chicken Thighs. I really like the one pan meal ideas they provide in the book.

  1. Here’s my favorite thing I made when I did it:

    Take a 3-5 pound bottom round roast. Put in your crockpot. Dump a jar of mild banana peppers over it, brine and all. Turn crockpot onto low and cook for 8 hours. When it’s done, shred it and eat it plain on your plate or do what I did and make butter lettuce wraps with guacamole and chopped tomatoes. So freaking good!

    My other favorite thing was a Sausage, Sweet Potato and Spinach Casserole because I make it once then heated and ate all week. I ate it for breakfast but I suppose it cold be eaten any time, especially if you changed up the type of sausage.

    http://doingaone-eighty.blogspot.com/2012/03/mr-helen-ate-spinach.html

    Both of these things were stuff my husband would eat and he wasn’t doing the Whole 30.

    1. Not a big fan of banana peppers but that first one does sound pretty delicious! Kevin would probably like it.

      The Sausage, Sweet Potato and Spinach Casserole certainly sounds up my ally! I’ll have to check that out. I could definitely go for a change in my breakfast routine.

Leave a Reply

