Fitness · Food · Health · Local · Uncategorized

A Paleo Experience

So I finally got my ass around to doing the second day of this week’s workouts. Hooray for slaying the monster of all workouts! Seriously, take a look for yourself. Intense!

 

Week 4 Day 2: Warm Me Up! Stretching Routine (BodyRock Flow)
http://www.bodyrock.tv/2012/05/21/couplet-workout-body-heat-workout-new-warm-up-flow/

I did Flow first today for a good stretch and warm-up before my Burn workout. A perfect choice if I say so myself.  I woke up sore in the glutes, hips, thighs and quads so the quick warm-up was great to work out the kinks. Frankly I love anything with down dog and upward dog and it was just what I needed to wake up my muscles.

 

Week 4 Day 2: Killer Body Heat (Body Rock Burn)
Couplet 1:
1. Switch Lunge with Oblique Chop: 10, 11 (Used 10lb kettlebell)
2. Alternating Sandbag Swing: 27, 28 (Used 10lb kettlebell)
Couplet 2:
1. Sandbag Deadlift & 1/2 Burpee: 6, 6 (Used 10lb kettlebell)
2. Weighted squat jumps: 25, 25 (Used 10lb kettlebell)
Couplet 3:
1. Clean and Press & Squat & Press: 7, 10 (Used 10lb kettlebell)
2. Elevated Under Knee Push-Up: 17, 15 (Ended up just doing pushups on my knees)
Couplet 4:
1. 10 x Plank Shoulder Touch  & 10 x Toe Touch:  1.5, 1.5
2. Goblet Squat & Press: 7, 8 (Used 10lb kettlebell)
Couplet 5:
1. Tuck Elevated Arm Abs: 27, 35 (Did just regular crunches)
2. Upright Row & 1/2 Burpee: 7, 7 (Used 10lb kettlebell)

 

Week 4 Day 2: Hot Legs Sexy Butt Workout (BodyRock Sculpt)
Leg, Ass & Inner & Outer Thigh: 25 reps of each exercise.
A) Squeezes:
1a) 25 Squeezes – Legs Hip Distance apart
2a) 25 Squeezes – Knees Together
3a) 25 Squeezes – In & Out
4a) 25 Squeezes – Hold the Squeeze & In & Out with the Knees
B) Ass Inner & Leg Workout: (Repeat Left & Right Side Separate)
1b) 25 L leg Lift & Lower
2b) 25 Straight Leg Lift
3b) 25 Straight Leg Cross Over
4b) 25 Bent leg press to the ceiling
C) Inner & Outer Thigh: (Repeat Left & Right Side Separate)
1c) 25 Straight Leg Outer Thigh
2c) 25 Forward Bent L Press
3c) 25 Straight Leg Heal Toe Static Leg hold & Press Toe forward and back
4c) 25 Small Straight Leg Presses up and down

 

Bonus – Chest & Back Weighted Sculpt Cool Down:
(I used my 10lb kettlebell for all exercises and did each arm separately.  15 reps per exercise per side.)
1) Chest Press 
2) Bent-over Row 
3) Upright Row 
4) Deadlift Left Leg: (My balance on these was terrible. Something to work on. I miss real deadlifts.)
5) Deadlift Right Leg: (See above.)
6) Reverse Push-Ups: (Didn’t have anything to do these, so shocker, I skipped them.)
7) Around the World 

 

Besides an ass kicking workout today, I got together with some friends and tried out a new restaurant. It’s not new, but it was the first time we had a chance to go.  And man do I plan on going back as much as possible. The Paperback Cafe in Old Saybrook is just plain delicious.  Imagine my surprise when I opened up the menu and saw that they had an entire page of Paleo options? Yummy! (I’ve slowly been starting to read up some nutrition options, one being Paleo so I kinda got irrationally excited to find a local restaurant with Paleo options!) I barely even looked at the 3 other pages of breakfast and lunch options and just focused on the Paleo options.  I was excited to try something new!

Yeah Paleo options! It took me forever to decide but eventually I decided on “Maggie’s Breakfast Sandwich.” How could I not, when it had my name on it?! Two almond flour waffles, layered with chicken sausage and 2 fried eggs, sandwich style, with fresh fruit. Sounded delicious to me!

This with a cup of yummy Oregon Chai and I was in breakfast for lunch heaven! I ate everything on my plate except for 2 bites of waffle.  I was pleasantly surprised by the waffles.  I was concerned about almond flour because I’m still learning to love almonds in general.  (Almond extract turned me off of almonds for a long time because it is just too damn sweet. Eck! But I’m coming to love raw almonds and apparently almond flour.) The almond flour gave the waffles just a tiny hint of sweetness combined with nuttiness. Yum, yum, yum!

I had a snack of some water crackers with a small slice of sharp cheddar cheese and some chicken salad. Those were pretty darn delicious too!

Dinner was chicken spiedies! I love me some spiedies! I avoided the pasta that we normally have them with and just had the spiedies and salad.  Yummy, yummy and yummy!

It was pretty much just a kick ass food day altogether.  Let’s have some more of those soon!

Anyone on the Paleo diet? What to do you think about it? Do you modify it in any way? 

P.S I’m starting to not hate 1/2 Burpees. What is the world coming to?

2 thoughts on “A Paleo Experience

Leave a Reply

