Fitness · Food · Health

23:20

So today I tackled the pyramid of fun that was the BodyRock Sculpt Workout for Day 4. I was completely intimidated by this workout. I knew I would be able to get through part of it but I wasn’t sure if I would be able to get through all of it. They said if you were a beginner to just aim for 10 reps of each but I knew I could do more than that so I set my goal to complete the whole pyramid.  I’m proud to report that I did it! It only took me 23 minutes and 20 seconds, but I did it! The first few sets of 10, 9, 8 and 7 I thought I wouldn’t be able to finish. But somewhere around the set of 5 I figured if I had come this far, then goddamn I was going to finish it! I powered through sets of 4,3,2 and finally 1! I didn’t stop once during those last 4 sets.  I will confess that I did stop at the end of the set of 10, 9, 8 and 7 just to for a few seconds to dry off the handle of my kettlebell and get a sip of water. Overall an awesome workout and I hope to redo this in a month and see how much faster I have gotten!

Second Half of Day 4: 300 Rep Fat Slaughter Workout (BodyRock Scuplt) (For time)
http://www.bodyrock.tv/2012/05/04/day-4-–-30-day-challenge-–-hit-your-climax-–-bodyrock-burn-sculpt-flow-workouts/
1. Alternating hand sand bag swing (Using 10lb kettlebell)
2. Shovel left (Using 10lb kettlebell)
3. Shovel right (Using 10lb kettlebell)
4. Clean and Press Left (Using 10lb kettlebell)
5. Clean and Press Right  (Using 10lb kettlebell)

Total time – 23:20

Day 4: Super Hot Yoga (BodyRock Flow Workout)

1st plank position: I was able to get 12 reps in on either side. Around the 9th or so, my arms starting getting a little shaky from holding the plank. I came down into child’s pose between the 2 sets for about 15-30 seconds. Great stretch through the back of the legs. My hamstrings really needed it.  My knee came nowhere near my head, my belly got in the way but my knee was up to my chest pretty much.

2nd plank position: Held each side for 30 seconds. On my elbow with other arm fully extended up.

3rd plank position: I was able to get 12 reps in on either side again. I went down into child pose between the 2 sets again.  My arms got shaky again during the last set so I had to come out of plank once or twice. I felt like my right knee got way closer to my elbow than my left knee did. My left knee was at least a good 6 inches away from my elbow.

I have never done hot yoga but I felt like I had just got through a class of it because my room is just so damn hot and humid. Non stopping sweating just from ten minutes of yoga. Yuck but a good yuck!

I didn’t get to the extra ab portion of the Scuplt workout, but I plan on getting it done tomorrow.  Saturday and Sunday are active rest days for the 30 Day Challenge so the ab part will be good to get done tomorrow. I also plan on going for a run at some point tomorrow. Hopefully knock out 3 or so miles depending on the humidity. Have I mentioned how much I hate humidity? Because I really hate it.

Breakfast was just a quick yogurt before I got in my pyramid workout. Lunch was much more interesting.

Lunch today consisted of 1 whole egg, 2 egg whites, 2 big handfuls of spinach, 1 chopped tomato and 1 slice of swiss cheese. I also added in some cracked pepper and some hot sauce.

Afternoon snack of raspberry Chobani and half a serving of pistachios.

Dinner was a homemade turkey burger with some ketchup, 1 chopped tomato, some edamame and 1 sweet potato baked as fries (just a little olive oil, salt and pepper).

What did you eat today? I’m always on the lookout for good healthy meals.

Side-note: Tomorrow is the last day of the Old Lyme Midsummer Festival. I’m going in the morning so there might be a non fitness related post tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

